Shortly after arrival in SA the first German settlers sought to become British subjects. A petition was granted and the oath of allegiance was administered to 123 German men during the Queen's Birthday celebrations on 24 May 1839. However, to own land these men needed to become British Subjects by a naturalisation process.

The first legislation was put in place on 24 August 1841 when Act No 6 was passed "for the Naturalisation of certain persons native of Germany". As a consequence thirty-seven people, together with their families, became British subjects. This Act had to name the candidates. Further Acts were promulgated in 1846, 1857/58, 1864, 1872 and 1895.

The Commonwealth Constitution placed naturalisation under the jurisdiction of the Commonwealth and in 1903 existing naturalisations were confirmed except for the Chinese and uniform requirements for future naturalisations made in new legislation.
Images 1-3 NAA D596 1953/1463